Holland Trip Photos

Some of you are aware that I just got back from a two week work trip to the Netherlands.  It was, of course, work, but I managed to fit some fun things in around the edges.  I haven’t even properly looked through my photos yet, but here are a few that stood out as particularly nice.

I was delighted to realize that I would be there in the spring.  I was a little late for prime tulip season, but late-blooming tulips were still going strong.  On my first jetlagged day (the one where I hadn’t slept at all on the plane and was just dragging myself through until it was late enough to go to sleep), I went to Keukenhof, which claims to be the most beautiful spring garden in the world.

IMG_1320

A river of mixed tulips.

The enormous fields of tulips that one imagines from pictures of Holland were pretty barren, but there were lots of nice smaller displays.

IMG_1233

Tulips in stripes.

IMG_1189

Fancy tulips.

In addition to tulips, there was a nice array of other bulbs, and a few pavilions with general floral displays.

IMG_1186

I don’t know how they made them do that. Dyed them somehow, I assume.

But even everyday Rotterdam was beautiful.  Green, lots of paths, water everywhere.

IMG_1492

I walked along this … linear pond every day on my way to the office.

And I did fit in one other tourist adventure, a trip to the UNESCO World Heritage Site Kinderdijk (kinder-dike), where I did, in fact, see windmills.  I got to go inside two windmills.

IMG_1606

The inside of a windmill. There’s a stove/fireplace on the right, and behind that is a bed with just room for two people propped on pillows and a bassinet. It really isn’t any bigger than this.

IMG_1636

Fishing basket. And that sailboat in the background is made out of a wooden clog.

I also had a chance to fly to Norway for a weekend and visit friends.  Which was lovely.  And, you guys, Norway is scenic.  SO FREAKING SCENIC!  I have only a handful of pictures from Norway, partly because I was only there for two days, but party because I was suffering from scenic overload and couldn’t choose what to take pictures of.  Also it was large and scenic in a way that’s hard to photograph.

IMG_1436

Scenic.

IMG_1379

Even the town center was scenic. And very pedestrian-friendly.

And despite what everyone says about Holland being rainy, it was sunny almost the entire time I was there.  Meanwhile, Massachusetts got an inch and a half of rain.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Holland Trip Photos

  1. dottiebaumgarten

    Thanks! Lovely! Dottie

    On Mon, May 29, 2017 at 3:14 PM, The Squirrel’s Adventures wrote:

    > thesquirrelsadventures posted: “Some of you are aware that I just got back > from a two week work trip to the Netherlands. It was, of course, work, but > I managed to fit some fun things in around the edges. I haven’t even > properly looked through my photos yet, but here are a few that sto” >

Leave a Reply

