Did you know

That in Jordan, a guy you are sleeping with is your boyfriend, but someone you are merely dating is your lover? I certainly didn’t, and this puzzled us for a while until we figured out that we were having linguistic difficulties. I am currently much more informed about the state of affairs in Jordan than I was previously, although I’m still somewhat confused, because my informant’s English is less than perfect, and I catch fewer of the fine details the later it gets. But that is one of the fruits of this evening’s fireside chat. (I am constantly amazed by the way people are so impressed by my firestarting skills. I only used one match, but I also used two sheets of newspaper, and the wood was dry. And they were impressed before they knew about the one match.)

I have also learned that Korean ramen-noodles-from-a-package are better than American ramen noodles, but also MUCH spicier. Isaac would like them.

Today we played ultimate frisbee barefoot in the rain, except for the people who played soccer barefoot in the rain. This was, of course, after sessions about the SALT policies, culture shock and coping mechanisms, and living with a host family, and small groups with people going to and coming from regions, discussing questions about how people interact on a daily basis.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Did you know

  1. Ken...

    I guess your firestarting skills were honed by working with a father whose goal is lighting a fire with no matches. Flint and steel, anyone?

  2. Emily H.S.

    I feel like by the end of orientation you could have enough interesting and/or entertaining kernel material for several short stories. Perhaps it will give you something to do for several of the endless hours in airports…

    • Are you thinking of something specific in this post? Maybe I’m just being dense; I didn’t really get enough sleep last night, for no obvious reason.

      • Emily H.S.

        Just the snippets you’ve been passing along in general… frisbee barefoot in the rain, language mishaps, accents, Korean noodles-from-a-package, and so on. The kinds of things that happen when you put that many people from that many places in one building and encourage them to mingle. I’m not so much thinking full-fledged plot lines as bits of experiences that could turn up in stories. Possibly they’re less striking when you’re living them, as opposed to reading about them.

      • Oh, they’re certainly things that might turn up. Some of them might even be stories in and of themselves, or frameworks for stories, I’m just too much in-the-middle of them right now to know which are which.

Leave a Reply

